Movie Theaters and Guard Labor

In 1963, I was a ticket taker in a small art theater in Ann Arbor, Michigan. I took the tickets and then for the last show, I had to sit by the door and make sure that nobody came in during the middle of the movie. I am also a relative of the Warner Bros., who asked my grandfather, as well is just about everybody in town to become a partner for $50. My grandfather asked why anybody would pay a nickel to watch a shadow on the wall. I’m in my office now looking out the window at Warner Street, so named because the movie, Robin Hood with Errol Flynn, was made here.

I also remember when movies had ushers. Some even had organs to play for the audience. The labor content of movie theaters has fallen precipitously, especially when one projectionist can take care of a multiplex.

1 comment so far

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rick Ross, Lily Ma. Lily Ma said: Movie Theaters and Guard Labor « unsettling economics: Filed under: economics |. In 1963, I was a ticket taker in … http://bit.ly/4Rq6lB […]


Leave a Reply

